Lenten Digital Detox: How to Simplify?

For Lent this year I decided to take part in a form of digital detox. I was convicted about how much time I was on my phone and the amount of time I was wasting by checking it needlessly.  I felt that by creating boundaries for my phone usage I would be more present, less distracted, and more productive. Here were the guidelines I created and how they made life simpler.

  1. In Bea Johnson’s Zero Waste Home one valuable tip they recommended was only checking your email three times a day.  Pick three times that are convenient and make sense for you to check your email.  For me it was in the morning when I first get up, in the afternoon when both kids are napping, and in the evening after we put the kids to bed.
  2. Think about the amount of emails you receive and unsubscribe to emails you do not want to receive or are not essential.  Not receiving them is simply easier than deleting them daily. For me I thought about: Have I ever ordered something online from this store?  Can I receive this information somewhere else if I need it? How did I even start getting these emails? The first day I unsubscribed or changed my email preferences to over 30 different sites. I realized there were some stores I never shopped at or emails that I never requested getting.  By unsubscribing it has saved me time since now I do not have to sort through as many emails a day and it has significantly decluttered my inbox.
  3. Respond to emails as soon as they come in. With less clutter in my inbox and more time I try to respond to emails that require a response either that day or the next day. I often do this during the afternoon while my kids are napping and I have the most time. I used to often put off responding because I thought I did not have the time and then I would forget about them.
  4. Check social media once a day. There are wonderful things about Facebook, Instagram, bloglovin’, Pinterest. They can be extremely useful tools and offer great resources. That being said they can simply be a time theif.  I thought this would be much harder than it was. It was much easy than I thought and it was nice to have some down time in the evening to look through it all. You really are not missing anything by not checking this every 5 minutes and your the picture of your friend’s kid trying a new food or your coworker’s vacation pictures will still be there.

Put down your phone. Enjoy time with people and have a happy Easter!

Lenten Digital Detox: How to Simplify?

Leave a Reply

